In the beginning, I tried to work.

As promised, today I will begin on my long summer narrative. Hopefully we will reach the end of it by the end of this month.

The year had ended with awkward goodbyes, and as I was chugging home on the MTR (that’s the Mass Transit Railway) I thought I’d better finish my holiday homework before I dove into anything exotic, or I’d never bother to deal with it.

That’s what I think every year, but it never happens. Usually, I finish it late August – early September. Eek! Reflects my beautiful trait of adhering to my plans, doesn’t it? But perhaps this time I’ll have the maturity to do something right.

Upon reaching home, I took out my stack of Chinese worksheets. It didn’t look good – A book report, a project, and ten articles to read? I felt so sorry for myself I booted the computer and zipped onto Youtube to watch my favourite anime. (While ‘doing’ my homework, of course.)

Typical.

No prizes for guessing what happened.

I finished reading the articles and doing half the book report. Over six hours. When I could’ve done that in less than two.

Oh well, it’s an improvement. At least I managed to get something done. With that, I breathed a sigh of satisfaction and went back to the anime. If only life was that simple.

(For Day 2, It’s waay down, titled ‘2nd day of summer hols.’ And FYI, I still haven’t finished my homework…yet. :P)

Author: Jessica Y

Economics student at the University of Cambridge. Aspiring data scientist.

Leave a Reply

