One.

‘Some fresh air, Douglas!’ I spluttered as clouds of black dust swarmed towards me. ‘What’s wrong with your exhaust fan?’
The rusty vehicle bumped down the slope, tires screeching. I wish I’d stayed at home.
‘Kate, be patient. We’re almost there.’ Almost there? All I could see was an expanse of barren wasteland. Our destination, Mocha City, was nowhere to be seen. The car burped.
‘It’s not funny, Douglas. Where are we going?’ Honestly, if I wasn’t such a kind soul, I’d have bonked him unconscious and started driving myself. We’d been driving for five hours, at the very least. And if Douglas keeps to his usual sitting-boulder attitude, I’m thinking it’s going to take him another five to realize just where he’s headed.

Author: Jessica Y

Economics student at the University of Cambridge. Aspiring data scientist.

Leave a Reply

